And its back to the Computer

My phone bit the dust yesterday, and I suspect keeping it mounted in the open on my bike contributed to that.  I don’t think it was the whole story, but I think it was part of the problem.  So, I’ve ordered another computer and I’ll use that for average speed.  I’ve ordered another Cat’s Eye Enduro, which will show up next week.

I may see how Strava does tossed in a backpack (or back pocket).  The thought would be to pick up climbing, participate in challenges but not depend on it for speed measurement.  If nothing else, the time with the Strava encouraged me to do more hill  climbing and that’s definitely a good thing.  What I’m finding is that even though my average speed really isn’t budging, hills are having less of an effect on my overall average than they used to.

 

2 comments

  1. I run Strava on my phone in my back pocket. I have a stem-mount computer to show speed. More reliable, and I save the phone battery. Tracked 100 miles today on 30% of my battery.

    Like

Leave a comment